A New Part of my Journey: Chair Elect for C200 — Maryann Bruce

Point of View
3 min readDec 20, 2021

--

Maryann Bruce

I am extremely honored to have the opportunity to serve as the Chair Elect for C200 for 2022. C200 is a premier invitation-only organization of C-suite corporate executives and entrepreneurs, who together represent more than $1.4 trillion combined revenue, and employ over 2.5 million individuals. The organization was founded in 1982, when a committee of 200 powerful women in business gathered with the goal of raising much needed funds for another women’s business organization. As of today, this inspiring community is 500+ women strong, and continues to bring together women innovators, influencers, and those who support each other while changing the face of business.

I believe that today’s unprecedented circumstances surrounding COVID offer a unique opportunity to have a significant impact on C200’s strategy and value proposition. I genuinely care about the long-term success of C200 and want to be in the forefront, guiding and leading the future of the organization. My vision for C200 is to help it continue to grow and prosper and be recognized as the preeminent association dedicated to advancing women’s leadership in business.

I am extremely passionate about this organization. Its mission and values directly align with my own. I believe in the sisterhood and wholeheartedly resonate with its mission of giving back and helping educate, inspire, support, and advance women leaders in business. Throughout my traditional and board portfolio career, I’ve frequently shared my time and treasure cultivating women leaders and helping them achieve success in their careers and life by providing advice, sponsorship, mentoring and financial resources. In addition to being an active member of C200, I Chair the board of Wrestle Like A Girl, am an advisory board member of Divershefy, a member of the International Women’s Forum, and a founding member of P4P and the Carolina’s Chapter of Women Corporate Directors.

I also serve on the board of Amalgamated Bank, the advisory board of RealBlocks, and am a member of the National Association of Corporate Directors and the Private Directors Association.

During my term, I will have three top priorities. Over the past few years, C200 has spent a significant amount of time, energy, and financial resources, creating a long-range strategic plan. My first and most important priority will be to work together to assess and refine that evergreen strategic plan to confirm direction and ensure we are delivering on and staying true to our mission. My second priority will be to focus on membership expansion, composition, and retention. My third priority will be to strengthen board governance and succession planning.

My goal as Chair Elect is to help take C200 to the next level. Doing that requires dedicating the time necessary to work with the Executive Team and the Board to determine how best to maximize our impact for our members and the broader female community. Together we will also focus on growing the organization, reimagining our programs and partnerships, and expanding our reach by exploring new strategic opportunities and creating additional affiliations with likeminded organizations with similar goals.

Success means having a cohesive and high-performing board, being recognized as a role model for “paying it forward” and as a premier organization for helping women advance by taking on leadership positions in the C-suite and Boardroom, and an active and engaged membership made up of “raving fans” who are eager to recruit other highly talented and successful female executives.

I’d like my legacy at C200 to be that I left the association stronger and better than when I arrived.

--

--

Point of View

A point of view is the angle of considering things. It’s a platform for people with a vision and a story to tell.